Achieving Excellence in Service and Professionalism

September & October 2020 Star of Quality Recipients

The Landstar Star of Quality Award is intended for members of the Landstar network who go above and beyond in representing the freight transportation industry. Each month, deserving independent business capacity owners (BCOs) and independent agents earn Star of Quality awards, recognizing their extra efforts and individual dedication to service.

The outstanding efforts made by these professional men and women during September and October 2020, earned them a Landstar Star of Quality Award.


Kenneth Adams, William E. Almy III*, Richard A. Brant, Alec S. Costerus*, Jonathan E Damm*, William J. Dobrie, Christopher S. Higgins, Patrick B. Martin, William L. Martin*, Adam R. Miller, Billy Dean Vaughn

*Going Beyond the Gold – recipients have received multiple Gold Star of Quality awards.


Rodrick Ondra Allen Sr., Rodney L. Book, Randall Kieth Campbell, Chris E. Dock, Allan Wayne Dooley, Ronald G. Harris, Benson Githinji Kinyua, Stanley Launza Jr., Valentin Lopez, James H. McKean, Jennifer Denise McNabb, Randal Scott McNabb Sr., Anthony D. Nowicki, Cary Peters, Ricardo Flores Quinones Sr., Bryan Ragin, Jeffrey C. Reuter, Richard Dean Reynolds, Joe Leland Rowland, Eugene Smiley Jr., Haden Barrington Smith, Andrew Lee Wade, Jonathan Ware, Donald Ray Willaford, Raul Edenilson Zelaya


Trevoling F. Allwood, Clarence Armstrong Jr., Brian Francis Backer, Travis D. Baker, Melvin D. Barnes, Sharon Bass, Noel M. Begne III, Mark Thomas Benton, Thomas Mark Brown, Abel Carrola, Jesse C. Charles, Jesse Wayne Clark, Harry D. Clinton, Jimmie Ed Cotner Jr., Matthew John Cutler, Cheick O. Diakite, Jhosinnory Diaz, Terrence Dowell, Randy William Doyon, Roger Wilson Durham Jr., Joseph Eanes, Walter Larry Gomez, William Andrew Guy, Willie Junior Hawkins, Benjamin R. Hinshaw, Cassandra Johnson Hinshaw, Jason Leon Ironmoccasin, Anthony Joseph Jackson, Nathan Charles Jeffers, Joseph Donald Johnson Jr., Edward J. Jurbala, Angela Deneen King, James Willis King, Mark J. Knepp, Christopher Martin La Hori Sr., Benjamin Aaron Lee, Robert S. Livingston Jr., Marcel Lowery, John Mwangi Maina, Steven Marcelletta, Ricardo A. Martinez, Arthur Reynald McGarvey, Curtis Duane Mitchell, Jason Montgomery, John M. Morris, Ceylon M. Mosley, Randolph Stanley Muhr, Edward Russell Neville, Paul Royce Nichol, Robert William Norman, Lee Nelson Queen, Douglas Eugene Ralston, Aldo Jose Grullon Ramirez, Douglas Ransom, Torrance Keith Robinson, Carol Scoggins, Larry Scoggins, Andrew Scott Shirey, Terry A. Silversmith, Miguel Angel Soto, Robert Dale Spicer, Roger T. Springstead, Randy Lee Scrivner, Steven D. Summers, Gene Sylpha, Janusz A. Szklarski Sr., Curtis J. Tillman Jr., Webster A. Toler, Thomas Adam Torrance, Michael James VanBuren, Johnny Joel, Vanegas, Karrie L. Walmer, Kenton Hull Wamsley II, Jeff W. Ward, Franklin Morris Wek, Bryan S. White, David Williams Deckion Shrell Williams

If you would like to nominate a member of the Landstar network for a Star of Quality Award, please email

Landstar Truck

Landstar Fuel Rebates Top $50 Million

The annual fuel rebate savings for independent business capacity owners (BCOs) through the Landstar Contractor’s Advantage Purchasing Program (LCAPP) is at $54,956,293 and counting!

Each year, Landstar BCOs save millions of dollars on fuel purchases through LCAPP. The previous LCAPP fuel savings record was $47,312,132, set in 2019.

When it comes to fuel savings and fuel tax charges, the LandstarOne® mobile app helps owner-operators optimize their fuel savings to find the best prices wherever they travel. LandstarOne is available for download via Android: or iPhone:

*Landstar’s total fuel rebate information is calculated weekly based on information provided to Landstar from its LCAPP vendors. The year to date total, $54,956,293 was calculated from fuel savings information during the week of Nov. 2-8, 2020.

FREE Holiday Meals for BCOs

The Landstar tradition of offering free holiday meals continues in hopes of making the season a little brighter for independent business capacity owners (BCOs) on the road and away from their families during the holidays.

Landstar has teamed up with TravelCenters of America and Petro Stopping Centers (TA/Petro) to offer complimentary meals on Thanksgiving (Nov. 26) and Christmas (Dec. 25).

To ensure a successful transaction when printing your complimentary holiday meal coupon, TA/Petro is asking UltraOne® members to register for the coupon. The link to register for the Christmas meal coupon is posted for BCOs via

The link will be active until 11:59 p.m. Friday, Dec. 18. The meal coupon will be available to print the day before Christmas, but can only be redeemed on Christmas Day.

BCOs who experience issues printing the coupon should contact LCAPP at 1-800-531-5227. Landstar BCOs who are not an UltraOne cardholder should visit a Landstar field operations center or contact LCAPP to ask for a holiday meal coupon.

Coupons are valid for up to $25 for an individual or up to $50 for two people (team drivers/spouse) at participating TA and Petro locations with full-service restaurants. The coupon includes the meal, dessert, drink, and tax. It is not valid for tips. Photocopies of the coupon will not be accepted.

Please monitor for updates about holiday meal coupons for Thanksgiving and additional information about holiday meal coupons for Christmas. And be sure to check or TA/Petro’s TruckSmart® mobile app to determine restaurant openings and closings, as they could change daily depending on state mandates.