Landstar Receives SC&RA Safety Awards

Landstar Million Mile Safe Driver and Roadstar® recipient Victor Markle was honored with the Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association (SC&RA) 2020 Million Miler Safety Award.

“I am very humbled by this award from the SC&RA,” said Markle. “This honor feels much bigger than me because at the end of the day, I just do my job. I make sure I am safe on the road to get home to my family.”

Each year, the SC&RA selects one professional driver from a SC&RA member company to receive the Million Miler Safety award. The SC&RA award recognizes drivers who have accumulated a minimum of one million consecutive miles of safe driving within the industry.

Markle, who leased to Landstar in 2005, became a Landstar Million Mile Safe Driver in 2013 and was selected as a Landstar Roadstar® honoree in 2014. He was nominated for the SC&RA award this year by Landstar’s safety department.

To be considered by Landstar for nomination, the potential recipient must be an independent business capacity owner (BCO) who hauls heavy/oversized loads and has already achieved one million safe miles of driving while leased to Landstar.

In addition to the Million Miler Safety Award, Landstar Transportation Logistics Inc. was recognized with the SC&RA 2020 Transportation Fleet Mileage award in the Over 100 Million Miles category. Landstar received the fleet safety recognition for having the lowest accident frequency rate in that category.

The Specialized Carriers & Rigging Association (SC&RA) is an international trade association of more than 1,400 members from 46 nations. Each year firms across the United States and around the world submit entries to the SC&RA Award competition, which recognizes worldwide excellence in the crane, rigging and specialized transportation industry. More information is available via

The Landstar Roadstar® status is one of the highest levels of recognition a business capacity owner (BCO) can receive at Landstar. BCO is Landstar’s term for the independent truck owner-operators who provide the company with transportation capacity under exclusive lease agreements.  


The March and April 2020 Star of Quality Awards

Awarding Service Excellence

The Landstar Star of Quality Award is intended for members of the Landstar network who go above and beyond in representing the freight transportation industry. Each month, deserving independent business capacity owners (BCOs) and independent agents earn Star of Quality awards, recognizing their extra efforts and individual dedication to service. The outstanding efforts made by these professional men and women during March and April 2020, earned them a Landstar Star of Quality Award.


Eugene Vincent Antinori*, Bill E. Ater Jr.*, Robert Francis Barnard*, Robert Bruce Boyle*, Nicolae Ilie, Joseph M. Kren, Jeron L. Long, Steven L. Loob, Anthony T. Mitchell, Andrea Elizabeth Perry*, Helen C. Smith, Shann Taylor and Ernest Ray Webb*

*Going Beyond the Gold – recipients have received multiple Gold Star of Quality awards.


Daouda Compaore, William Edward Denny, Jacquelaine Gardner, Henry Gilbert Jr., Larry James Knotek, Sergey Lozovskiy and Jacqueline L. Merkle


Armando Aguilar Jr., Raymond Douglas Amos, Jaime F. Arias, Atta Ullah Azam, Richard T. Barnes, Gregory Kenneth Bell, Ronald A. Bennett, Wayne Tshombe Boston, Roger D. Bradshaw, Christopher Andre Campbell, Grace Rita Chambers, Eddie Joe Chaplin Jr., Cris Conson, Michael John Cope, Tyler Michael Crisp, John Ivory Davis, George R. Dennis II, David B. Dreggors, Maria Escamilla, Andrew Gallegos, Bobby Ray Gilbreath, Howard Allen Goldman, Walter Jacobo Gonzalez, Billie Jo Gratz, Steven Keith Gratz, Carl Wayne Hall II, Gregory Harris, William D. Hollins, Joshua Neil Honkanen, Harry Alfred Jackson II, Jimmy Jones Jr., Moise Joseph, Leonard John Kammes, Anthony S. Kaufmann Sr., Benson Githinji Kinyua, Charles Krieg, Ruben Leal, Zachary Seth Lindler, Rashawne M. Lucas, Richard Musat, David V. McCullough III, Michael Dennis McGrew, Richard McIntosh, Jennifer Denise McNabb, Randall Scott McNabb Sr., Vernon Edwin Morreira, Annita Bryan Moso, Michael Allen Nettles, Eileen Danbe Noh, Gregory Omalho Jr., Douglas Ottesen, Pedro Moso Palomo, Gilbert Vasquez Perez, Khiry Pickett, Susan Fay Rachels, Amulya Rai, Odean Anthony Richards, Prince Fernando Richardson III, Robert D. Richards, George L. Roberts, Robert L. Roepke, Joe Leland Rowland, Lugman Bashir Said, Jose Salinas Maldonado, William Broadus Semple, Tracielyn I. Depodesta Smales, Ricky Lane Smith II, Gregory D. Stewart, Chester L. Stoltzfus, William Keene Summers, Eduardo Sustaita, Robert Joseph Taylor, Anthony Kentrell Thompson, Micah G. Turner, Robert Ray Turner, Ivan Noe Vasquez, Maxine A. Wedderburn, Robert S. Wedderburn, Anthony Wells, William Dale Wix, Cecil Claude Wooster and Michael Xayapraseuth